The Choice by Suzanne Woods Fisher (a review)

I’ve been given the privilege to write a review about Suzanne Woods Fisher’s newest book, The Choice (Lancaster County Secrets, Book 1).  In addition to my review, which incidentally is my first “official” review, I’ll be sharing with you a couple of events surrounding the release and blog tour of The Choice.  So, grab a cup of coffee or a glass of water, sit back, and enjoy!

First off… the Blog Tour!  It started January 25th and goes through February 15th.  Check out links to other blogs’ reviews of The Choice by clicking here.

Secondly, there’s the Events!

  • TWITTER CONTEST:
  • Enter to win a signed copy of The Choice!
  • Tweet this (copy & paste the yellow words shown below)  (NOTE:  You must use hashtag #thechoice to be entered – no limit on entries!):
  • Psst… pass it on! Join @suzannewfisher for a Book Bomb & Author Talk! Details here http://ow.ly/W84r #thechoice

  • I’m assuming the Twitter Contest ends the night of the Author’s Talk… February 15th.  (I looked and looked trying to find an ending date and couldn’t.)

Book Bomb and Author's Talk with Suzanne Woods Fisher

  • BOOK BOMB and AUTHOR’S TALK on February 15th (Click on this button for more info): —>
  • The Book Bomb provides you with the chance to win a $25 gift certificate to Amazon.com.  Simply purchase a copy of The Choice on February 15th, and email the required info to amy@litfusegroup.com.  (The required info is found on your receipt… the store name, receipt number, and number of copies purchased.)  Each copy purchased is an extra entry in the $25 gift certificate giveaway.
  • The Author’s Talk is at 8 p.m. EST on February 15th. At the party (aka the Author’s Talk), you’ll learn the story behind The Choice and have the chance to win some great prizes (Amish cook books, Auntie Anne’s Pretzel gift certificates, Amazon gift certificates)!  (Be sure to check out Suzanne’s  website before the party because I’m told ALL of the answers to the trivia contest questions can be found there.  hint, hint! ;))

Thirdly, here’s a bit about the book

One moment, Carrie Weaver is planning to elope with Lancaster Barnstormer Solomon Riehl, leaving their Amish community behind. The next, she is staring into a future as broken as her heart. Now Carrie faces a choice. An opportunity. But will this decision, this moment in time, change her life forever?

…and the author!

Suzanne is a wife and mom, raiser of puppies for Guide Dogs for the Blind, and an author of Christian books, both non-fiction and fiction.

Her relatives on her mother’s side are Old Order German Baptist Brethren, also known as Dunkards. That’s where her interest in Anabaptist traditions began. Suzanne’s grandfather was born into a family of 13 children, started his career as a teacher in a one-room school house in Franklin County, Pennsylvania, and ended it as one of the very first publishers of Christianity Today. “We called him “Deardad” even though he was a very stern fellow. Still, Deardad’s life inspired me to write.”

After college, Suzanne was a freelance writer for magazines and became a contributing editor to Christian Parenting Today. Her work has been featured in Today’s Christian Woman, Marriage Partnership, and Worldwide Challenge, among others.  To learn more about Suzanne, visit her website at www.suzannewoodsfisher.com, or…

Connect with her online:

Finally, here’s my review!

When I first started reading The Choice, I found it rather slow-moving.  However, once I got “into” the story, it was difficult to put the book down.  Suzanne Fisher weaves several smaller stories into the main story creating an exciting and compelling narrative.  While there may be a stereotype for Christian fiction books, especially with regards to the Amish, this book broke the mold!  Suzanne doesn’t include frivolous information about the Amish lifestyle.  She writes, assuming the reader has a basic understanding about the Amish.  I, for one, find that refreshing!  (She doesn’t insult the reader.)

I’d really like to encourage my readers to get the book and read it!  How do I do that?  How do I convince you to want to read it without spoiling the plot?  Since I like a little mystery and surprise in the books I read, The Choice was a good choice (pun intended) for me because it has several unexpected twists, turns, and even characters… including a motorcycle-riding, ex-con, born-again Christian who visits the home of Carrie Weaver (the main character) and falls in love with one of the other minor characters.  (You’ll just have to get the book to find out the outcome of that particular part of the story!)

The challenge of writing a review comes whenever one realizes… “but I can’t say that, I’ll spoil the story.”  I do want to let you know that by the time I finished reading this book, I was ready to read the second book in the Lancaster County Secrets series!  Too bad it’s not yet written or published.  I’m really looking forward to it!  If you aren’t convinced that you’d like to read this book, leave me a comment and let me know why.

My thanks to LitFuse who sent me a complimentary copy of The Choice for review purposes.

8 thoughts on “The Choice by Suzanne Woods Fisher (a review)”

  1. Hi Anita! Thanks so much for your review for “The Choice!” And the next in the series is just months away! It’s called “The Waiting”…to release October 1st. Same town of Stoney Ridge, Pennsylvania…but set in a different time period. Stay tuned! Hope your 2010 is off to a great start. ~Suzanne Fisher

  2. I haven’t read anything by this author, but it sounds like you really enjoyed it. It’s great to find fiction that keeps you guessing – too many stories are predictable.

  3. Anita…now that the blog tour is over, would you have a minute to spare to post your review of “The Choice” on Amazon and/or CBD? I would greatly appreciate it…enjoyed your review and would love to have it up there.

    Thank you again!
    ~Suzanne

  4. Nice review!

    I also enjoyed “The Choice” and look forward to reading Suzanne Woods Fisher’s next novel.

    I thought the plot was great – robust and satisfying – like a flavourful wine. There were twists and turns that I didn’t see coming. There were love triangles, wise old grandmas, wise elders who gave loving counsel, caring sisters, jail birds, guarded secrets, mystery, and sweet, sweet romance. The chemistry between the two main characters was very believable and I enjoyed it immensely.

    I wrote a more in-depth review on my own web-site http://www.tracysbooknook.com

    -Tracy

Leave a Reply

